KIT List honored with Jefferson Award. Here are the TV and radio times for the segment this week.

26 07 2010

Hello Everyone,

We are touched and honored that the KIT List has won the Jefferson Award for community service.  I am grateful to Tresa Eyres, who nominated us, for her thoughtfulness and advocacy.

The Jefferson Award was created in 1972 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Senator Robert Taft Jr. and Sam Beard to encourage public service by recognizing people on a national and community level to inspire others to take action.

The true power of the KIT List is the spirit of people helping each other, and this award is really for everyone who has worked to help friends, colleagues or complete strangers find great jobs!

The segment will air this Wednesday, July 28, on our local CBS station in San Francisco on TV, radio and their website:

TV:       KPIX Channel 5 (San Francisco Bay Area)

Wednesday, 7/28:             6:00 p.m.             Eyewitness News
Thursday, 7/29:               12:00 p.m.           Eyewitness News at Noon
Saturday, 7/31:                 8:00 a.m.             CBS 5 Early Editions mornings (times vary, check listings)

RADIO:      KCBS 740 AM and FM 106.9
Wednesday 7/28:            6:50 p.m., 9:40 p.m., 11:50 p.m.
Sunday 8/1:                     11:50 a.m., 3:50 p.m.     

WEB:
After the first air date, it will be up on www.cbs5.com/jeffersonawards

The segment will share the KIT List story, and how it started with my “Keep In Touch” email list of friends at Silicon Graphics. When I tried to help friends who were getting laid off from SGI, it rapidly morphed into a job opportunities list.  It grew to over 68,000 people just by word-of-mouth. The reason why this list has maintained its quality over the years is because great people tell other great people!

You’ll also be able to see our wonderful Amy Sloniker Plunkett and Kelly Connelly (my sister!) who dedicate their time and talent as KIT List moderators.

This award belongs to ALL of you, and I want to thank you for what you’ve done as a part of this community to help others find work they can love.

THIS is the way we turn this economy and get talented people back to making a difference again!

Warmly,

Sue

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 01 2012
Pamela McConnell-Douglass

My family and friends would love to nominate me for the Jefferson Award due to my Ability to go Forward in Life, regardless of the many challenges, I have had to go through. When, I was 5 years old, I was a severe stutterer. I would take out people garbage and bottles to make extra pennies. I did this with a hello/thank you. Yes, I survived the inner-city ghetto. I was given a gift to relocate to Mill Valley to attend school. My mother gave me her Deep Blessings. I formatted many programs there for the Youth/Teachers/Community during the harsh 60’s to Love each other regardless of the Color of their skin and income. I graduated with honors. I then attended the University of Hawaii. I blended in with the Island people. I taught at the Child Care Center and adored the children and the wonderful parents/staff. I worked at the Graduate Law Library and met Islanders from so far South in the Pacific. WE all became “One”. I received my degree in Human Resource Development/Psychology/Sociology and completed my thesis in S.I.D.S. I returned to Mill Valley and then to Tiburon. My children attended the Reed school district. And my daughter attended “The Katherine Branson School” in Ross. I put on Fashion Shows, Docent Programs and etc. I have worked for many Lawyer’s in San Francisco. I worked as a “Cross Guard at the Reed School recently for 8 years. I loved the children and the wonderful parents. Now, I am looking desperately for a paid position. So, I can utilize my skills. I also taught at the American Red Cross in San Rafael, CA under the late Maggie Anderson (a #1 Angel). Office Manager – Youth (I taught 1,000 youth the Child Care Program especially from Marin City, Community, Nursing, Safety and Community Affairs Programs.

Thanks for taking your time to read my Story. Each day, I will continue to give a hand to someone Special in Life. That’s the way, I was raised to be KIND, HELPFUL, RESOURCE AND NOT TO WALK OVER SOMEONE, who can benefit from your Aid.

Pam & Steve (A Happily Married Couple in Life.
Tiburon, CA 94920

Like

27 07 2010
Patrice Reid

Congratulations to Sue, her team and the entire KIT List community!

This is a great example of how one person can make a difference and impact so many lives in a positive way. Inspiring!

Like

Leave a Reply

