The new KIT List Blog: Tapping into the strength of our KIT List community to help each other

27 11 2008

Hello Everyone,


When I started the KIT List to “Keep In Touch” with my friends from Silicon Graphics, I had no idea what I was getting into – and that it would turn into a job list of 58,000 people! And it all grew simply by word-of-mouth, where friends told friends about a way to find great jobs.


But the real story of the KIT List is the incredible power of people helping each other.

With the stormy times we are facing with the economy, I’m even more convinced that the way we’ll see our way through this is by each of us pitching in together.


I don’t think a government bailout, or some international consortium can do enough. It’ll take each of us acting on an individual level, and as communities looking out for each other. That’s why I’ve kept the KIT List going.


I firmly believe that the efforts we each make on behalf of our friends, family and absolute strangers is what will really transform this economy while bringing out what is the best about us; compassion, innovation and action.


In that spirit, we’re launching the KIT List blog to:

  1. Provide a way for KIT List people to share ideas and give feedback on key topics, trends and issues regarding job searching
  2. Help relieve the isolation and loneliness of the job search process
  3. Tap into the “brain trust” of the talent within our community to share tips and expert advice
  4. Make the KIT List more personal so you feel you’re are part of a close and vibrant community

Stay tuned for upcoming “From Sue” emails where I’ll be keeping you in the loop on the blog and other ideas and tools we’ll be using to harness the power of this amazing community to help each other.


Wishing you a wonderful Thanksgiving!


Sue


Sue Connelly

KIT List Founder

http://www.KITlist.org

Actions

Information

13 responses

13 12 2008
Karen Flynn

Hi Sue,

We met in the parking lot @ the SVtweetup this week. Thanks again for the KIT list. An SGI friend of mine referred me to your list which I’ve subscribed to for many years. After almost 20 yrs @ Sun, I’m now a job seeker and the list is one of a few lists I subscribe to that I actually value. Welcome to the world of blogging. I’m looking forward to additional value through this medium. Keep up the good work!

Karen Flynn
@flynn_k (Twitter)

Like

10 12 2008
Margeaux Mann

Go Sue!
Thanks for this fun blog. Have a great holiday and opportunities are all around. This is recession number 3 for me, I think?
So, I m relaunching http://www.urbancowgirl.com come check it out. Thinking and feeling positive.

Margeaux Mann

Like

3 12 2008
Ken Davis

Hi Sue,

Congratulations! You know that I and 4marketeers.com have been a supporter, and occasionally a customer, of KIT List and I applaud your initiative once again. I know your blog will help many job seekers through some tough times.

Best regards,
Ken Davis
http://www.4marketeers.com

Like

2 12 2008
Deb McClanahan

Sue,
This is a great start to your new KITList blog. You’ve really characterized what this community needs to be.

Conventional wisdom says that the holidays are a tough time to look for a job – I disagree. It is often busy for both recruiters and job hunters because of that end of the year push – trying to get critical positions filled before a budget ends or to be ready to start 2009 with a full team. While this year has the added challenge of the economy, we all need to keep focused on finding that next great job.

Like

1 12 2008
John Lin

Congrats on your success! I have a friend that I told about this email list and she found a job via your email list a few years ago.

You probably don’t remember me, but I was a MBA summer intern at SGI in the summer of 1998. I still keep in touch with Monica Winders from that summer.

Like

1 12 2008
Angel Rampy

Hi Sue,
KIT List has been a great resource for my clients. Sue,you have manifested how a community of people can come together to help – even virtually.
Thank you for your dedication not only to the list but to those out there that depend on you!
My advice to those that are looking for a job is to realize that there IS something out there looking for you. However, you have to let the universe know what you want. So ASK – everyone and anyone. However be very clear about what you want. Know not only what KIND of job you want but what environment you wish to work in and what type of folks you wish to work for or with. What do you personally value and how does it align with the work you are looking for?
Remember if you are using the same technique to look for a job – and it isn’t working – try a different approach. Be curious and approach an interview with an attitude of ‘learning’. But most of all – Never give up!

Like

1 12 2008
H Wiggins

Staying connected through blogs such as this one, LinkedIn, & via your local trade associations, religious & community groups, etc.; those are the ways to fight back against the difficulty of times such as these. It’s really hard, but pulling together is how we will all make it through.

It’s great to have a KitList; a CraigsList; a LinkedIn; an ERE.Net, and similar resources, the trick is to do your best to leverage them as best we all can!!

Welcome back to the fight; this time, I know our side will win.–Victor Laszlo

Like

28 11 2008
MB Deans

KIT List is the best! Glad to see you’re blogging….I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts. And perfectly timed, too.

Like

27 11 2008
Frank Hoeflich

Sue:

Pretty hardcore of KIT List to launch the blog on Thanksgiving day. :-@) But really tough circumstances call for out-of-the-box effort. You folks are clearly (still) doing your part in providing a great framework for us to stay in touch, and in turn I continue to support you all the way.

For the rest of you out there: don’t fall into `holiday malaise’ and stop looking during the last few business weeks of the year because `no one hires in Q4′. There are still recruiters making calls and new postings being made. I for one am alternating a little self-training of a skill for which I’ve seen demand with turkey bastes today so as to become more marketable.

Like

27 11 2008
Michael Sick

Happy Thanksgiving to Sue and all the KIT list readers. I signed up for the list some years ago when I left a corporate marketing career and was looking for the next Marketing VP opportunity. I’ve been consulting for over five years now and I have not unsubscribed as the KIT list is a reminder that many people are looking for jobs and more importantly, that innovative companies are expanding and creating opportunities. I look for opportunities to forward the list and specific postings to people I know who are in transition. I must have forwarded the KIT list over 100 times over the years.

I’m thankful for people like Sue who take the time to start and maintain projects like this. I’m also thankful that I live in the greatest country in the history of the world where we have the opportunity to pursue whatever direction we desire. By all making productive contributions and helping those around us to continuously improve, we can be assured that the current financial situation is just a minor obstacle to overcome.

Like

27 11 2008
Maria M

Sue,

Great message – I’ve been a supporter of KitList.org for many years and am in complete agreement with you that the best way to weather challenging times, like those we are experiencing now, is by banding together and helping each other!

For those who are unemployed, always remember that your job situation is not a reflection of who you are – you can be the victim of an unfortunate circumstance (i.e.; a company downsizing or rightsizing, internal politics, unhealthy boss, etc.). When searching for a job, look not only for vacancies, but for situations where you can market yourself as having greater value/potential than the talent that already exists within a company. Believe it or not, it is in bad economic times when companies are most open to upgrading their talent. So figure out what your value add is and market it like mad!

Maria
Executive Recruiter

Like

27 11 2008
Lee Garverick

In the spirit of this holiday… I’m thankful for KITList and your efforts Sue. It gives a great pulse on jobs and hiring, and it shows that yes the valley is still chugging along.

Like

27 11 2008
Rob Anderson

Hi Sue,

This is a GREAT idea! Thanks for setting this up!

I want to offer some tips to folks who are looking for work who might find themselves in the same situation I did while interviewing for a coveted job. I’m happy to write that I got the job – barely. The competition was fierce. There were six of us going for a senior position. Then there were four, then two: myself and another person. What made the difference? When the hiring manager requested that the two of us re-send samples of our work because she was having trouble making the final decision, I deliberately went out of my way to express that I was happy to do this. Furthermore, I sent the manager an e-mail letting her know that if she had any reservations about me I would be more than happy to discuss them with her. And THAT was the turning point, in my opinion. By reaching out to her – and by the way, she did have one or two minor concerns that I was able to put to rest – I was showing how easy it was going to be to work with me. And I was offering this gesture at the end of what she knew had been a grueling process of elimination.

People interviewing for jobs must always remember that they are not only selling their skills, experience and professionalism. They are also selling THEMSELVES, in the sense of making their potential future colleagues believe that they will be easy to work with, even enjoyable. Convince them of that about yourself, and you’re almost guaranteed success.

Like

Leave a Reply

